Tags

, , , , ,

Sadness is not a disease. Why is it when a deeply feeling person is debilitated by emotion, people tend to tell them to ‘buck up’ or ‘get over it’ or some other such nonsense. I understand how emotionally compartmentalized folk cannot fathom this scenario only because I cannot fathom how they DON’T suffer under an emotional deluge.

Of course, from that previous statement, you may well surmise I do not understand how emotionally compartmentalized people live. The concept of going through life without experiencing emotion on very deep levels baffles me. I’ve suffered my fair share of criticism for my emotional makeup as well.

I’ve had people in the church tell me I “need to get over it and move on” rather than looking to connect with me and understand. Of course, these people have been emotionally compartmentalized folk most of their lives. I’ve had people outside the church say the same thing. I hear statements like, “you think too much.” or “you’re way further into this than you need to be”.

I suppose there is a certain amount of truth to those statements in the previous sentence, but what is left out in all that rhetoric is my personality – who I am. I am a ‘feeler’. I love the movie “The Holiday“. There’s a line from the British brother (Jude Law) where he states, “I’m a weepah (weeper, I just wanted to get the accent right on the spelling there!).” Basically, the character stated he cries watching movies or reading well-written books among other things.

That’s me. My gut says that if I listen too closely to these more compartmentalized folk, I will completely lose connection to my personal identity. In fact, I’ve been in a negative, compartmentalized world now for decades, and I indeed have lost touch with who I am and my self-worth.

So I strive to get back to the person who can walk down the street barefoot on a sunny morning having just been verbally assaulted by an emotionally strangled person, and experience the beauty of the blue skies, the cool breezes, the freedom a breath lends the heart, and the knowledge that true appreciation of this world at its highest level can be cherished in a moment.

My apologies, although I’m sure I need not apologize, to those who know the path to success is do, do, do. We’ve been trained and ingrained with the rat-race mentality. We keep dolling this phenomena up in all kinds of technological frills, but the bottom line is – as a society we continue to lose our soul to those who do not know how to access their emotions. Personal opinion, to be sure…

This blogsite is my refuge for passion, for expression, and for experimentation. For those of you who understand, there are times I use writing to sort out where I’m at emotionally. Hopefully, something I write or have written will help you in your quest to experience the higher level of the awareness of the miracle of life. We cherish this incredible gift bestowed upon us far too infrequently.

I believe there is beauty in sadness. Dangerous, I’m told by some. Ridiculous I’m told by others. But I’ve met many who understand the revelations of sadness. When we connect, I know the comfort of kindred spirit and the knowledge of camaraderie. Sadness means you feel deeply for something, more often, someone.

There is no shame in feeling sad. There is no need to rush out of the emotion as though leprosy lurks just around the corner. I understand the concern and fear over depression, but I watch commercials on late night TV for all these pills to relieve depression. I’m no psychologist. I’m sure scientifically I’m probably out of bounds, but if we cared more for each other and shared in each others’ emotions on more personal levels, maybe we wouldn’t run to these ‘life-threatening’ pills whose side-effects can be far worse than their ‘symptom relief’.

Enough said for the moment on sadness. I go through periods of sadness when life sends emotionally dark things my way – like a dear seventh-grade girlfriend who is fighting cancer. I am sad for her trial. My sadness is a way of expressing to the universe, God, whomever, that I care about her and I wish this disease taken from her. I care for her husband and children as they share in her struggle.

This sadness led me to encouragement. I wrote on her Duke Hospital page some old memories from 40 some years ago. I lifted up her husband and commended his support. And I wrote this blog. Please don’t ridicule those who feel deeply. We may be basket cases during a trial, but is our only worth defined by how much we contribute to the Gross National Product?

Let’s go out and share a little compassion for those who are struggling, whether physically or emotionally. And why don’t we practice this every hour of every day until we have mastered it? What would this world look like then…

Time for another spur-of-the-moment poem. Hey, I think I’ll title it…Sadness…

Sadness

Sadness snakes its smoky way

Through heart and soul;

time and memory;

Compassion and love.

Without these abstracts,

How would sadness survive?

Paths taken off the sadness trail,

Brushstroke the painting of our lives.

Choose wisely when departing its dark maze.

With your heart illumined by peace and encouragement,

Your emotional feet guided to the fresh air of clarity,

And the knowledge of who you are…

For copies of my more polished, published poetry, check out:

Loves Lost and Found (2009)

Poetry in Black and White (2012)

