Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

hAs promised, from the vintage year of 2011, here lies one of the four or five poems I stumbled across while cleaning my office and desk. I like knowing I wrote things that can be fresh to me years later…

The Encounter

Courage roars.
Courage rears its horns – Virile. Power-laden.
.      Locomotive wrenching through a fertile forest
.      Lion – full stride. Sleek. Focused. Salivating.
.      Heart – pumping rhythms stuffed with passion and hope.

Courage blanches.
Courage bows out of its moment –
.      White-faced. Drained by internal fears,
.      Life-waning moments of indecision.
.      Rabbit – skittering hopelessly on a highway.
.      Gentle compassion no match for the strain.
.      Soul – in transition from hope to despair,
Floundering from the thought “I must decide.”

Courage –
.      Steps forward in lavender-fog snapshots of the heart and
.      Wills itself…
.                        One…..
.                                   Step……
.                                               More……

