Tags

, , , , ,

I sit on a park bench on the intercostal. Soft breezes wend their way through the trees and palmettos and my hair. Dusk settles around me like the inevitable blanket it is, while comfortable relaxation settles nature down into another extended nap.

I’ve written quite a bit this evening. This will be my Daily Poem. People and birds and fish and bugs and the sun have all come and gone. The illusory permanence of my surroundings lend comfort and a sense of freedom. I queried myself on many topics. What follows is but one:

How Do I Learn to Love Myself?

How do I learn to love myself?
Today it’s by walking away from abuse.
Walking away from people making me responsible for their ills.
By relying on myself for fulfillment.

How do I learn to love myself?
Today it’s by spending time with myself.
Stepping into that part of me at its highest best.
By acknowledging I am sufficient to my needs.

How do I learn to love myself?
Today it’s by throwing off the judgments of others.
Enjoying the special gifts I offer this world.
By knowing I am a good person.

How do I learn to love myself?
Today it’s by relaxing into nature’s beauty.
Embracing the wind, the bird songs, the cloud painted sky
And realizing the resilience within…

