Tags

, , , , ,

I write on a site called “750Words.com.” I’ve been writing there a few years now. In the couple years I’ve written on the site, I’ve keyed 497,372 words as of yesterday, April 26, 2013. At my current rate of writing, I will surpass the half million word mark by Monday.

I only place about half, if that, of what I write on 750words.com. Much of my blog, email, book and other writing slips through the word count cracks. I’m positive over the past two years I’ve written well over a million words.

This number sobered me a bit. I did not realize numerically what writing every day means. Writing everyday helps improve your writing as well. I’ve seen that. Confidence levels rise. Tons of great, positive strides come out of writing.

Why bring this up on a poetry blog? Since I took on the challenge of a poem a day for thirty days, I’ve discovered that writing focused on one general genre every day is a challenge unto itself. Prior to this challenge, I allowed my poetic muse to dictate when I wrote poetry. I may return to this as well.

Through this challenge, I now recognize why I find it difficult to write for my business blog every day (which is something I probably should be doing!). I have learned a lot from this, and I would challenge other writers to consider taking on writing outside their comfort zones so as to grow their perspectives and come to understand areas of their writing with which they may be struggling.

How I’m going to turn this into my poem of the day, I have no clue. but I’ve enjoyed the thirty poems in thirty days. Three left (not counting this one). Here goes:

Word Wrestling

Normal
0

false
false
false

EN-US
X-NONE
X-NONE

MicrosoftInternetExplorer4

/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-priority:99;
mso-style-qformat:yes;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin:0in;
mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:11.0pt;
font-family:”Calibri”,”sans-serif”;
mso-ascii-font-family:Calibri;
mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin;
mso-fareast-font-family:”Times New Roman”;
mso-fareast-theme-font:minor-fareast;
mso-hansi-font-family:Calibri;
mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin;
mso-bidi-font-family:”Times New Roman”;
mso-bidi-theme-font:minor-bidi;}

Rhymes tumble like shoes in a dryer
Ideas clank and clunk in dissonant fury
Muses stressed into screaming banshees
Writings slapped around by broken fingers

Flow. Resonance. Connectivity.
Grail search for phraseology
Driving thoughts through heart and hands
Rays of sunshine define perseverance in the written word.

