Tags

, , , ,

Day 29. NaPoWriMo. You realize I place that acronym in my post for search engine purposes. I wonder if my fessing up to this fact helps or hinders my search engine success.

By special request, a poem for this incredibly beautiful, rain soaked evening. I do love rain. Not as much as snow, but rain deserves third place behind snow and a crisp, autumn, leaf-blown day.

Ice CreamName That Tune…

Swirls and twirls of chocolate dreams
Sprint the gamut of ice creams
While circus colors tongues do vie
Bright blue eyes light up the sky

I’ve tasted creams from all sides now
From plain and crazed, and still somehow
Its sweetness reigns in all my dreams
I really do love my…..ice creams….

Shared and reveled in my brain
The tastes they’ve given still remain
Yet every savored slurp retain
Like peppermint and candy cane…

I’ve tasted creams from all sides now
From plain and crazed, and still somehow
Its sweetness reigns in all my dreams
I really do love my…..ice creams….

Spools and jewels of caramel streams
We love some zest in our ice creams
Yet sharing each unbridled taste
We spoon it up and lick in haste….

I’ve tasted creams from all sides now
From plain and crazed, and still somehow
Its sweetness reigns in all my dreams
I really do love my…..ice creams….

Gotta give a huge shout-out thank you to Chief Editor who suggested “peppermint” and “candy cane” and a number of other totally tasteful tweaks! NICE!

Now that was fun! I’m so glad I keyed this out of earshot of human beings…I’ve never been accused of possessing a great voice, and this melody challenged my rudimentary vocals. But after serendipitously falling into the meter of the song, I found a way to stay true to the melody at last.

I think I’ll put a poll on this post to see who knows what song’s melody I used to concoct this sweet poem. lol! Hey, maybe I’m delirious, maybe I’m just nuts (although I think nuts destroy the inherent, tasteful beauty of ice cream), but writing can be an entertainment all to itself…

