Tags

, , ,

Sliding Rock - Pisgah Forest, NCDreamers…

Dreams are for lovers and lovers of dreams
All is not captured in full truth it seems,
Yet lovers and dreamers stroll tight the beams
That carry their fate along life’s myriad streams…

Brilliant chaos. Two words that popped into my head after midnight last night. As a writer, you become accustomed to these occurrences. Words, phrases, plotlines, stories, book projects, blogs, all manner of things stroll around in your brain when you relax.

Most, if not all, times, as a writer you should grab the nearest writing utensil and get them out of your head. I read a quote last night in my Extension Writing Class that says: “You never have to change anything you got up in the middle of the night to write.” ― Saul Bellow. I’ve found this quote to be quite accurate. Sure I may tweak the grammar a bit because my head may be sleep-deprived grogginess, but the content always stands.

This delivers to my mind the idea of “brilliant chaos.” Creativity often gets wrapped in a veil of illogical, chaotic, gestalt eruptions that dive into your heart from unreachable locations from within. Writers work so hard at coaxing this nefarious location to deliver more content. Sometimes we succeed. Sometimes we don’t.

For my experience, that act of writing embodies an exercise in brilliant chaos. The word “brilliant” is not meant to imply the writing itself is “brilliant” but that the SOURCE is brilliant in its complexity.

The “chaos” comes from the nature of creativity. Anyone who’s written stories at length find that character you, the writer, create in your own mind and direct, often end up going places you never dreamed. If THAT’S not chaotic, I somehow missed the definition of the word in elementary school. This type of chaotic creativity also happens in poetry and non fiction.

Write it down. Simple. Get up at night and write it down. The poem above started out with the words Brilliant Chaos rattling around my brain. I wrote the first two lines, then went to sleep. I picked up where I left off ten hours later.

For those of you who chase the writing bug, do yourself a favor. No matter how tired, no matter where you may be – pull over if your driving – when the brilliant chaos of creativity strikes, engage with it and create.

