Tags

, ,

TurkeyWriting on a rainy day fills so many holes and delivers a nice purge of inner emotion. Writing on a rainy day while you’re out on a bicycle ride makes the writing even more enjoyable. Sitting at Waterfront Park on the Florida Intercoastal simply makes the time spent memorable.

On my way to Waterfront Park, I ran across this fellow. I could not believe it! What an incredible turkey! I nearly wrecked turning my bike around, pulling my phone out of the plastic sandwich bag I was using to keep it dry, and getting to my camera app!

Tattered Covers

A door is closed
Loud, silent slam
There’s no denying it
Two lives parting separate ways
Forever locked in time and space

The lie is dead
Life rears its head
No insincerity –
When hope that bends, gives way to breaks
By what was present all along

Now, sure as the heart can feel the pain
This chapter’s over
Well read,  like a book with a tattered cover

An outcome sure
For years to come
A beacon warning bell
All who stroll past the damaged life
Will be measured by all the pain

Yet suns come up
Days fill with joy
A reinvention life
To hold the heart up to the light
And breathe it peace again to hold

Now, sure as the heart can feel the pain
This chapter’s over
Well read,  like a book with a tattered cover

