Tags

,

com1-intercoastal-view-2Waterfront is one of the poems I wrote this past Sunday at Waterfront Park. The exercise was to write to the meter of a song. The first post, Tattered Covers, I used Asia’s Only Time Will Tell.

Today’s posted poem, I used an obscure song by a band called Glass Moon. The song is Baja. I’ve loved this song since 1982. Few people have ever heard it. I’ll see if I can get a copy up on YouTube. For now, you’ll just have to make your own tune…

Waterfront

I fly down paths I ride alone
Daydream of love and going home
Breezes arrive welcome
The waterfront slips into view

I’m just filling my heart up
With things I love to do

I park and stroll the path alone
A note lifts up my heart in song
A tune comes easy
A smile sprints up my face

I’m just filling my heart up
With things I love to do

The day can bring on so much heat –
And can waste all your time

Soft evening drops like velvet dawn
I leave the thoughts I gathered long
Peace is there among them
The moments I strive for truth

I’m just filling my heart up
With things I love to do

