Tags

I ran across an interesting quote from pushed forward by my dearest friend on Facebook. The quote reads as follows:

“The truly creative mind is no more than this: A human creature born abnormally sensitive. To him/her..a touch is a blow, a sound is a noise, a misfortune is a tragedy, joy is ecstasy, a friend is a lover, a lover is a god and failure is death. Add to this cruelly, delicate organism the overpowering necessity to create… so that without creating music or poetry or books or buildings or something of meaning, his very breath is cut off from him. By some strange, unknown, inward urgency he is not really alive unless he is creating.” ― Pearl S. Buck

I do not believe I have ever put a finger on my own internal heartbeat any closer than this. I read up a bit on Pearl S. Buck. What an interesting life! I encourage you to Google her and learn about an extraordinary, creative lady.

In the midst of writing and creating, I find it essential to understand another piece of who I am and what makes me tick. This often elusive endeavor leads often into more writing. Each discovery jerks me down new avenues of thought and emotion. I am quite anxious to explore this quote as it applies to my life in the coming weeks.

 

