Tags

I decided to pick out some really cool music that I love from over the years. I’ve included the lyrics to songs where the lyrics do not appear in the video itself. One is an instrumental. Yes, this blog may take an hour to go through, but the music is great! 🙂

It was a hot afternoon
Last day of June
And the sun was a demon
The clouds were afraid
One-ten in the shade
And the pavement was steaming
I told Billy-Ray
In his red Chevrolet
I needed time for some thinking
I was just walking by
When I looked in her eye
And I swore it was winking
She was 31 and I was 17
I knew nothing about love
She knew everything
And I sat down beside her on the front porch swing
And wondered what the coming night would bring
The sun closed her eyes
As it climbed in the sky
And it started to swelter
The sweat trickled down the front of her gown
And I thought it would melt her
She threw back her hair
Like I wasn’t there
And she sipped on a julep
Her shoulders were bare
And I tried not to stare
When I looked at her two lips.
And when she looked at me
I heard her softly say
I know you’re young
You don’t know what to do or say
But stay with me until the sun has gone away
And I will chase the boy in you away
And then she smiled and we talked for a while
And we walked for a mile to the sea
We sat on the sand, and a boy took her hand
But I saw the sun rise as a man
Ten years have gone by
Since I looked in her eye
But the memory lingers
I go back in my mind
To the very first time
And feel the touch of her fingers
It was a hot afternoon
Last day of June
And the sun was a demon
The clouds were afraid
One-ten in the shade
And the pavement was steaming…
For Michele…

(NANCY):
Strawberries cherries and an angels kiss in spring
My summer wine is really made from all these things

(LEE):
I walked in town on silver spurs that jingled to
A song that I had only sang to just a few
She saw my silver spurs and said lets pass some time
And I will give to you summer wine
Ohh-oh-oh summer wine

(NANCY):
Strawberries cherries and an angels kiss in spring
My summer wine is really made from all these things
Take off your silver spurs and help me pass the time
And I will give to you summer wine
Ohhh-oh summer wine

(LEE):
My eyes grew heavy and my lips they could not speak
I tried to get up but I couldnt find my feet
She reassured me with an unfamiliar line
And then she gave to me more summer wine
Ohh-oh-oh summer wine

(NANCY):
Strawberries cherries and an angels kiss in spring
My summer wine is really made from all these things
Take off your silver spurs and help me pass the time
And I will give to you summer wine
Mmm-mm summer wine

(LEE):
When I woke up the sun was shining in my eyes
My silver spurs were gone my head felt twice it’s size
She took my silver spurs a dollar and a dime
And left me cravin for more summer wine
Ohh-oh-oh summer wine

(NANCY):
Strawberries cherries and an angels kiss in spring
My summer wine is really made from all these things
Take off your silver spurs and help me pass the time
And I will give to you summer wine
Mmm-mm summer wine

You’re a stranger to me
Then you give me your life
I toss it to one side
Still you’re sweeter to me
When will I be sure?
It’s warm where you are
But my lips just don’t burn
I feel so insecure
When you try to be kind
Could I ask for more
Looking at you now I know you only want to find me
Still I need a reason to leave the past behind me
Behind me
There ain’t no easy way
To learn how to fly
I hope that I can care
When I turn around you’re there
Should I ask for more
I feel like sugar on the floor
I feel like sugar on the floor

No wind when I took the watch

My ship was still and waitin’

I lay on that mirrored sky

A restless sailor waitin’

I closed my eyes said the

Words of will for the gentle

Breathin’ that moves the seas

Make my sails fill

Whisper waves cloud the glass

Awake at last like a lover

It rushed around the talkin’ sweet

Roll over, roll over, roll over

And in my ear he blew his name

It sound so strange but I heard it plain

Mistral mistral wind

I have always held the wheel but

I let the wind steal my power

Spin me ’round lose my course

Nights run be like hours

Well, it would show me the way

To the deepest mountains

Too high and beautiful to be

Mistral, mistral wind

All the hours on the watch

I wait for that breeze to move me

And blow me back to that place

Magic space all through me

And I sigh your name

Across the empty water

You made a crazy dreamer out of me

Mistral, mistral, mistral, mistral,

Mistral, mistral

There’s a lady who’s sure all that glitters is gold
And she’s buying a stairway to heaven.
When she gets there she knows, if the stores are all closed
With a word she can get what she came for.
Ooh, ooh, and she’s buying a stairway to heaven.

There’s a sign on the wall but she wants to be sure
‘Cause you know sometimes words have two meanings.
In a tree by the brook, there’s a songbird who sings,
Sometimes all of our thoughts are misgiven.

Ooh, it makes me wonder,
Ooh, it makes me wonder.

There’s a feeling I get when I look to the west,
And my spirit is crying for leaving.
In my thoughts I have seen rings of smoke through the trees,
And the voices of those who stand looking.

Ooh, it makes me wonder,
Ooh, it really makes me wonder.

And it’s whispered that soon, if we all call the tune,
Then the piper will lead us to reason.
And a new day will dawn for those who stand long,
And the forests will echo with laughter.

If there’s a bustle in your hedgerow, don’t be alarmed now,
It’s just a spring clean for the May queen.
Yes, there are two paths you can go by, but in the long run
There’s still time to change the road you’re on.
And it makes me wonder.

Your head is humming and it won’t go, in case you don’t know,
The piper’s calling you to join him,
Dear lady, can you hear the wind blow, and did you know
Your stairway lies on the whispering wind?

And as we wind on down the road
Our shadows taller than our soul.
There walks a lady we all know
Who shines white light and wants to show
How everything still turns to gold.
And if you listen very hard
The tune will come to you at last.
When all are one and one is all
To be a rock and not to roll.

And she’s buying a stairway to heaven.

Pretty World

http://youtu.be/TGxl6cuHBdM http://youtu.be/ig4EvOt6QRk

Why don’t we take a little piece of summer sky,
Hang it on a tree.
For that’s the way to start to make a pretty world,
For you and for me.

And for the sun we’ll take a lemon bright balloon,
You can hold the string.
Oh, can’t you see that little world of ours will be,
The prettiest thing.

We can gather rain enough for the stream,
To hold our happy faces.
When you want a breeze,
I’ll blow you a kiss or two.

Take me in your arms and our little world,
Will be the place of places.
Nothing must be made but breakfast and love.

We’ll hang a little sign that just says, “Paradise,
Population two.”
I know together,
We can make a pretty world,
For me and for you — for you,
It’s what I’m longing to do — to do,
To make a world with you.

[Bridge]

Take me in your arms,
And our little world
Will be the place of places.
Nothing must be made but breakfast and love.

We’ll hang a little sign that just says, “Paradise,
Population two.”

I know together,
We can make a pretty world,
For me and for you — for you,
It’s what I’m longing to do — to do,
To make a world…

With you…

Today

http://youtu.be/OPdEL-FaVzc http://youtu.be/rAdBU5nNNs4

Today, while the blossoms still cling to the vine
Ill taste your strawberries, Ill drink your sweet wine
A million tomorrows shall all pass away
Ere I forget all the joy that is mine, Today

Ill be a dandy, and Ill be a rover
Youll know who I am by the songs that I sing
Ill feast at your table, Ill sleep in your clover
Who cares what tomorrow shall bring

Today, while the blossoms still cling to the vine
Ill taste your strawberries, Ill drink your sweet wine
A million tomorrows shall all pass away
Ere I forget all the joy that is mine, Today

I cant be contented with yesterdays glory
I cant live on promises winter to spring
Today is my moment, now is my story
Ill laugh and Ill cry and Ill sing

Today, while the blossoms still cling to the vine
Ill taste your strawberries, Ill drink your sweet wine
A million tomorrows shall all pass away
Ere I forget all the joy that is mine, Today

Today, while the blossoms still cling to the vine
Ill taste your strawberries, Ill drink your sweet wine
A million tomorrows shall all pass away
Ere I forget all the joy that is mine, Today

Almost heaven, West Virginia
Blue Ridge Mountains, Shenandoah River
Life is old there, older than the trees
Younger than the mountains, blowing like a breeze

Chorus:
Country roads, take me home
To the place I belong
West Virginia, Mountain Mama
Take me home, country roads

All my memories, gathered ’round her
Miners’ Lady, stranger to blue water
Dark and dusty, painted on the sky
Misty taste of moonshine, teardrop in my eye

Chorus

I hear her voice, in the morning hour she calls me
The radio reminds me of my home far away
And drivin’ down the road I get the feeling
That I should have been home yesterday, yesterday

My father sits at night with no lights on His cigarette glows in the dark. The living room is still; I walk by, no remark. I tiptoe past the master bedroom where My mother reads her magazines. I hear her call sweet dreams, But I forgot how to dream. But you say it’s time we moved in together And raised a family of our own, you and me – Well, that’s the way I’ve always heard it should be: You want to marry me, we’ll marry. My friends from college they’re all married now; They have their houses and their lawns. They have their silent noons, Tearful nights, angry dawns. Their children hate them for the things they’re not; They hate themselves for what they are- And yet they drink, they laugh, Close the wound, hide the scar. But you say it’s time we moved in together And raised a family of our own, you and me – Well, that’s the way I’ve always heard it should be: You want to marry me, we’ll marry. You say we can keep our love alive Babe – all I know is what I see – The couples cling and claw And drown in love’s debris. You say we’ll soar like two birds through the clouds, But soon you’ll cage me on your shelf – I’ll never learn to be just me first By myself. Well O.K., it’s time we moved in together And raised a family of our own, you and me – Well, that’s the way I’ve always heard it should be, You want to marry me, we’ll marry, We’ll marry.

We can never know about the days to come But we think about them anyway And I wonder if I’m really with you now Or just chasing after some finer day. Anticipation, anticipation Is making me late Is keeping me waiting And I tell you how easy it feels to be with you And how right your arms feel around me. But I, I rehearsed those words just late last night When I was thinking about how right tonight might be. Anticipation, anticipation Is making me late Is keeping me waiting And tomorrow we might not be together I’m no prophet, Lord I don’t know nature’s way So I’ll try to see into your eyes right now And stay right here, ’cause these are the good old days. These are the good old days. And stay right here, ’cause these are the good old days. These are the good old days. These are the good old days. These are the good old days. These are the good old days.

The secret of life is enjoying the passage of time Any fool can do it There ain’t nothing to it Nobody knows how we got to The top of the hill But since we’re on our way down We might as well enjoy the ride The secret of love is in opening up your heart It’s okay to feel afraid But don’t let that stand in your way ’cause anyone knows that love is the only road And since we’re only here for a while Might as well show some style Give us a smile Isn’t it a lovely ride Sliding down Gliding down Try not to try too hard It’s just a lovely ride Now the thing about time is that time Isn’t really real It’s just your point of view How does it feel for you Einstein said he could never understand it all Planets spinning through space The smile upon your face Welcome to the human race Some kind of lovely ride I’ll be sliding down I’ll be gliding down Try not to try too hard It’s just a lovely ride Isn’t it a lovely ride Sliding down Gliding down Try not to try too hard It’s just a lovely ride Now the secret of life is enjoying the passage of time

Once in a life We lived in a sanctuary A song could get us free Slept behind the altar Only the singer saw Now it is gone, years on Times we took alone Stealing an hour, buying a night It’s hard on the telephone Love outside the law Jai tant reve du toi Is it gone, this year Is the song still in your ear Were we only high Just the wine Only the times When we’re old How will the story be told Windswept smoke used by time Waiting for the bus Will that be us? Do you recall my friend We never thought we’d ever fall When the salesman came to call Selling our soul to buy Sometimes it ain’t no deal at all Jai tant reve du toi

